top of page

Mental Mutiny


The weight on my shoulders has started to make me crumble

Like chalk held under running water

I feel myself falling apart

So much time spent holding myself together

Eyes front, soldier

Be mommy’s good little girl, brave little girl

Can’t cry, little girl

Corked up my emotions and with it my creativity

But now it all comes falling down

Spilling over like tears down my cheek

Because I thought had it all figured out

The world was in the palm of my hand and I could reach the stars

But now I realize that it’s not

And I don’t think I can

I never grew stronger than mommy’s little girl I’m lost and I don’t know what found means anymore

This is my mental mutiny, trying to outrun my fears and my doubts

They chase me like demons up and down the streets

How can I possibly outrun them

When they know me better than I do

bottom of page