top of page

A Murder

I let out a desperate cry, I knew there wasn’t a soul to be found. I knew there was no savior who would come to my rescue, I knew I wasn’t able to change my fate. But oh, did I wonder why on earth did it have to happen to me. Out of anyone in the world, why me? Why must I run? Run, until my throat turns coarse and my feet ablaze. Run, until my pool of thoughts evolved into one sentence, “Should I just give up?”


All of this agony and despair, all of this effort. My eyes trailed behind me with hope of escape, only to see him closer. He was gaining on me, that hope was shot with a gun. My breath hitched and I became more desperate. I began to fear for my life. Then that fear turned into something different. If my fate is already decided, then surely this story is one where I die. One where my body is discovered sprawled on the pavement, my eyes still full of sorrow. One where the next day I am to be found by police, and my death will become a crime scene. One where I am to have a brutal and painful death.


My only regret is that I didn’t curse that bastard to hell before I let my legs rest, while he kept moving. And that I didn’t stop my cries before he raised his murderous arms and hacked at my chest, letting my blood splatter like rainfall, going deeper and deeper. One hit after the other, restlessly, tirelessly, like he was on a time limit. While mine, pitifully ended.

Tags:

bottom of page