top of page

Just Because I'm Black

Just because I am Black, Doesn't mean my family is in a gang Doesn't mean I am related to every black person you think you may know And doesn't mean I won’t be successful in life

Just because I am Black, Doesn't mean you can get an “ N-word pass” from me Doesn't mean my family is poor Doesn't mean I know how to fry chicken Just because I am Black, Doesn't mean I know every single answer to a black history question Doesn't mean you can touch my hair without permission Doesn't mean I am sensitive about racial things Just because I am Black, Should I be outcast because of my hair or my skin? Do I have to be worried about my friends being racist? I go to a predominately white school and now should I worry I am whitewashed?

And just because I am black,

it means that I have control and power

over my blackness and these stereotypes don’t define me


bottom of page